First Offense OWI

First Time OWI Charges in Michigan

Criminal Defense from an Oakland County DUI Lawyer

Michigan law prohibits driving while intoxicated, with a BAC of 0.08% or higher, with a BAC of 0.17% or above, or with any amount of a schedule 1 controlled substance in your body. OWI, or DUI charges can come at a high price and a conviction may result in jail time, fines, probation, educational programs and more.

A first time OWI should not be taken lightly as it can lead to many debilitating penalties, including those listed below:

  • $100-$500 in fines
  • Jail for up to 93 days
  • As much as 360 hours of community service
  • Ignition interlock
  • Vehicle immobilization
  • Six points on a driving record
  • Driver's license suspension for as long as 30 days
  • Driver responsibility fee

When a BAC level is escalated to 0.17% or more, then the penalties may increase to the following:

  • Jail for 180 days
  • $200-$700 in fines
  • Up to a year suspension of a driver's license
  • Six points added to a driving record
  • Mandatory vehicle immobilization
  • License plate confiscation
  • Driver responsibility fee

You Need an Oakland County OWI Attorney

When you are accused of driving under the influence, it is imperative that you begin your defense as soon as possible. Get in touch with an Oakland County criminal lawyer as soon as you become a suspect or if you have been charged or arrested. An attorney will be able to start looking out for your interest from the moment that you contact them. This means being there with you during the police interrogation, attention court appearances and investigating the details of the charge to find defense options. Call Long Law PLLC immediately for an aggressive advocate on your side.

Successful Case Results

  • CHARGE: 2nd Offense OWI VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Assault and Battery VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Child Abuse VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Child Abuse / Neglect VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Embezzlement Over $20K VERDICT: Case Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Felony Domestic Violence VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Habitual 4th Offender After a Heroin Relapse VERDICT: In-Patient Treatment & Probation
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated VERDICT: Case Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated Verdict: Reduced Charge, No Jail / Probation
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated VERDICT: Case Dismissed