"Zero Tolerance" (Underage OWI)

"Zero Tolerance" (Underage OWI)

Experienced Oakland County OWI Lawyer

The State of Michigan is determined to eradicate drinking and driving, and if your child has been arrested for an underage OWI/DUI, the court will have to impose stiff penalties under the state's Zero Tolerance law. This law is a policy in the state regarding consumption of alcohol by drivers under the age of 21.

Zero Tolerance means that these drivers are not allowed to drive with any alcohol and / or drugs in their system. If you are a driver under 21 years old and are facing an OWI charge, your life can be seriously impacted by the consequences. You need competent OWI defense representation.

At Long Law PLLC, we understand the importance of protecting your child's future, and a lawyer from our firm can advise you of your options for defense and represent the case from beginning to end. Our firm serves clients throughout Oakland County and only practices OWI and criminal defense, which means that we are thoroughly experienced and knowledgeable in these legal fields. Attorney Emily Long is an accomplished and aggressive advocate who understands both sides of the courtroom in criminal cases and can use that insight to best serve you.

Michigan Zero Tolerance OWI Law

Under Michigan's Zero Tolerance OWI, you can be arrested for OWI if you are found driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02% or more. While no jail time will be incurred for this offense, those convicted will face other penalties, including:

  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • A fine of up to $250
  • Four points on your driving record
  • License suspension of up to 30 days

In the event of a second offense within seven years, a Zero Tolerance violation is punishable by:

  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • 60 hours of community service
  • A fine of up to $500
  • License suspension of 90 days

A conviction of a Zero Tolerance OWI will also be taken into account by the courts should you incur any future OWI, which could result in multiple convictions on your record.

As a driver under age 21, if your BAC is above 0.08% percent, you may be charged with a standard OWI that any other adult may face which includes more serious penalties. This offense is punishable by:

  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Fines of $100 to $500
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
  • Vehicle immobilization
  • License suspension for up to 30 days
  • Six points on your driving record
  • Driver Responsibility fee

Any OWI conviction will also generally result in higher insurance rates.

Get the Legal Help You Need Today

Because of the many negative consequences that can result from an underage OWI, you should turn to the Oakland County OWI lawyer at our firm. You must take action now to prevent a youthful mistake from having a long-lasting negative impact on your child's life. Your case will be handled with the utmost care and skill so as to minimize the repercussions as much as possible. We offer a free case evaluation, so call today!

Contact an Oakland County criminal defense lawyer who has the legal skill and determination you need on your side to fight charges of underage OWI.

Successful Case Results

  • CHARGE: 2nd Offense OWI VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Assault and Battery VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Child Abuse VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Child Abuse / Neglect VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Embezzlement Over $20K VERDICT: Case Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Felony Domestic Violence VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Habitual 4th Offender After a Heroin Relapse VERDICT: In-Patient Treatment & Probation
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated VERDICT: Case Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated Verdict: Reduced Charge, No Jail / Probation
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated VERDICT: Case Dismissed