Child Endangerment

Child Endangerment & OWI

Oakland County Child Endangerment OWI Attorney

In Michigan, it is against the law to driver while impaired by alcohol and / or drugs. In addition to an OWI charge, if you are found transporting a minor under the age of 16 with driving under the influence of alcohol and / or drugs, you will be charged with the additional offense of child endangerment.

When facing multiple criminal charges of this kind in or around Oakland County, you should immediately turn to an experienced OWI attorney. That is what you will find at Long Law PLLC where Attorney Emily Long exclusively practices OWI and criminal defense. As an accomplished and aggressive advocate, she thoroughly understands how the state will create its case against you; that understanding can be used on your behalf to devise an effective defense strategy. Attorney Emily Long has been selected for inclusion in Michigan Super Lawyers® Rising Starsâ„ , which reflects the high quality of legal ability and service our firm extends to all clients.

Michigan Child Endangerment Law in OWI

If you are convicted of OWI while driving with a minor, you will face additional penalties for the separate charge of child endangerment. A first offense of child endangerment will result in the following penalties:

  • Misdemeanor charge
  • Fine of $200 to $1,000
  • Jail time of up to 1 year
  • Community service of 30 to 90 days
  • Possible vehicle immobilization

If you are convicted on a second offense of child endangerment, you will be charged with a felony. This conviction is punishable by:

  • Fine of $500 to $5,000
  • Prison sentence of 1 to 5 years; or up to 1 year in jail with probation
  • Community service for 60 to 180 days
  • Vehicle immobilization.

Persons under 21 who violate OWI law with someone under the age of 16 in their car at the time can also be charged with child endangerment. These drivers will be charged if found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02% or higher while driving. A first child endangerment offense is charged as a misdemeanor, punishable by:

  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • Fine of up to $500
  • Community service for 60 days
  • Vehicle immobilization

A second offense for these drivers will result in:

  • Up to a year in jail
  • Fine of $200 to $1,000
  • Community service for 30 to 90 days
  • Vehicle immobilization

Seasoned OWI Lawyer at Long Law PLLC

Adding child endangerment penalties to an already serious OWI matter can have a huge impact on your life. That is why we highly recommend that you bring your case to an Oakland County OWI lawyer who has the experience and skills to make a difference in your defense. Contact our firm for a free case evaluation to learn more about what you are facing and how our firm can help.

Successful Case Results

  • CHARGE: 2nd Offense OWI VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Assault and Battery VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Child Abuse VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Child Abuse / Neglect VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Embezzlement Over $20K VERDICT: Case Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Felony Domestic Violence VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Habitual 4th Offender After a Heroin Relapse VERDICT: In-Patient Treatment & Probation
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated VERDICT: Case Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated Verdict: Reduced Charge, No Jail / Probation
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated VERDICT: Case Dismissed