Minor in Possession

Minor in Possession

Skilled Oakland County OWI Lawyer

Under Michigan state law, minors under the age of 21 are not allowed to purchase, consume, or possess alcohol. If found to be doing so, you will face legal consequences. Drivers under the age of 21 who are found operating a motor vehicle after having consumed alcohol may additionally face an underage OWI charge. These charges can best be fought with the help of an attorney who is skilled in OWI and criminal defense.

Long Law PLLC is a criminal defense firm serving clients throughout Oakland County. Led by Attorney Emily Long, an accomplished and aggressive advocate, our firm has the knowhow and dedication needed to help minimize the negative repercussions of charges which can cause problems for a minor's future.

Michigan's Minor in Possession Charge and Penalties

Violating Michigan's law regarding a minor in possession of alcoholic beverages will result in a misdemeanor charge. This charge may be punished in a variety of ways, including:

  • A fine of up to $100
  • Mandatory completion of a substance abuse program
  • Community service hours
  • A court order for substance abuse screening at one's own expense

If a minor is convicted of a second offense of this charge, he or she will likely face more serious consequences including jail time.

A minor convicted on a first offense of Minor in Possession may be eligible for probation. Once the individual completes all requirements and terms of probation, the charges against him or her may be dismissed. This means that the criminal record of this event will not be accessible to the public, as in the case of a background check. An individual can take advantage of this probation and case dismissal only one time per Michigan law.

Minors can also be charged with a misdemeanor for using fake identification to purchase alcohol. A conviction of this nature is punishable by up to 93 days in jail and / or a fine of up to $100.

Skilled Legal Representation in Oakland County

Any criminal conviction on a minor's record can lead to negative consequences in the future. If you are the parent of a minor who is facing any type of criminal charge, whether Minor in Possession, underage OWI, or using a fake ID to purchase alcohol, you should contact our firm as soon as possible for knowledgeable guidance. Get started by submitting a free case evaluation form or you can contact our firm to arrange to speak with an Oakland County OWI attorney about your case.

Successful Case Results

  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated VERDICT: Case Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Habitual 4th Offender After a Heroin Relapse VERDICT: In-Patient Treatment & Probation
  • CHARGE: Stalking VERDICT: PPO Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Stalking VERDICT: PPO Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated Verdict: Reduced Charge, No Jail / Probation
  • CHARGE: Embezzlement Over $20K VERDICT: Case Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Operating While Intoxicated VERDICT: Case Dismissed
  • CHARGE: Assault and Battery VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Child Abuse VERDICT: Not Guilty
  • CHARGE: Child Abuse / Neglect VERDICT: Not Guilty